Behind the Title : Ambareen Musa

Post 1095 of 1732

Founder’s, CEO’s, MD’s and positions of power have an aura of mystique surrounding them. They are known for their decision-making abilities and their business acumen. But what happens when you step into their lives? We delve into the worlds of five powerful women and discover their unscripted stories

Ambareen Musa

CEO, Souqalmal.com

Mauritian born Ambareen, with an undergraduate business degree from RMIT University in Australia, was always driven to make life easier through e-commerce. Her first business, set up at the age of 21, was an online property portal for international students in the country. Since then, she has worked for GE Money, Bain & Company Middle East and even set up the consulting arm of MasterCard Middle East and Africa, where she stayed for two years before founding Souqalmal.com in 2012.

Describe yourself in one word?
Energetic.

How old were you when you started working?
I started my first business at the age of 21.

What was your first job?
A start up company.

How many emails do you send in a day?
Varies and depends on the day but it is getting less and less as I start focusing a lot more on expansion of the business geographically. This requires much more hands on approach.

Sport you played in school?
Swimming, volleyball and tennis.

Favourite author growing up?
Khaled Hosseini.

First country you visited?
Singapore.

Last book you read?
The content baby book.

One book you could read over and over again?
The kite runner- Khaled Hosseini.

What did you want to grow up to be as a child?
I did not actually have a dream of a profession. I was very open and focused on doing things step by step.

Favourite cuisine?
Asian.

Your favourite dish?
Too many to list!

Favourite city in the world?
Istanbul.

How much was your first salary?
Nothing.

Favourite subject in school?
Mathematics.

Ever failed a subject?
No.

Name of the teacher in school who left an impact on you?
None that I can recall.

What time do you wake up?
6am.

For breakfast you have?
It varies. Sometimes it is just coffee. It depends on how rushed I am.

Did you have a pet?
A dog, named Pinky.

Favourite colour you like to wear?
White.

When you say 5 minutes, how far are you really?
5 minutes.

What’s the name of your hometown?
Quartre Bornes in Mauritius.

Your worst habit?
Trying to understand it all in a very short period of time.

What has this job taught you?
Perseverance.

You are most grateful for?
Having a dad that valued women’s financial independence.

One value that you have learnt from your parents?
Be as independent as you can be.

If you weren’t in this position, what would your alternate career be?
I have not thought about it.

Menu